Welcome to My Portfolio!

Welcome to my professional portfolio.

My name is Katy Jean Vance, and I am currently a second year master’s student at UNC Chapel Hill’s School of Library and Information Science (SILS) and a research assistant at  the Carolina Digital Library and Archives. I have a bachelor’s of arts in English with a teaching license from UNC Greensboro.

After graduating from UNCG, I spent six years teaching middle and high school English in Boulder, Colorado; Greensboro, North Carolina; and São Paulo, Brazil.  In August of 2009, I entered UNC SILS to study library science with an emphasis on school librarianship.  My professional interests include young adult and children’s services in a diverse society, technology and social media in education, and the literacy development and information access needs of marginalized populations.

I expect to graduate in May 2011 with an MSLS degree and a NC 076 School Library Media Coordinator License.  Please explore my portfolio to learn a little bit more about my experiences.

Comments Off on Welcome to My Portfolio!

Filed under Uncategorized

Comments are closed.